RSS Feed

How my addiction to Arnott’s could be destroying the planet.

How my addiction to Arnott’s could be destroying the planet.

And other reasons I’m feeling guilty about gorging on Tim Tams

I’m sure a lot of you have been in this situation before; you open the cupboard, looking for that healthy afternoon snack to go with your cup of tea, only to find a full packet of Tim Tams just sitting there. You don’t know how they got there;  they could be your mother’s, your sister’s, or your housemates. They haven’t even been opened yet.
You look over your shoulder, checking to see whether the owner of said Tim Tams is around, before picking up the packet. There’s no sign of any note, saying ‘Please Do Not Eat! These are for my How To Host A Murder Party.’ They must be meant for everyone.
And before you know it, you’re two thirds through the packet, and you’re feeling sick from the gorging and the shame. You wipe the chocolate from your lips, and shake the crumbs off your jacket before heading out to Woolworths for a replacement packet. No one will ever know.

We all have our vices. Yours might be Tim Tams, or Royals, Caramel Crowns, or Iced VoVos. Or it might not even be chocolate biscuit related. Mine is Arnott’s Mint Slice.


Until recently, the only regret I felt about doing something like this with a packet of Mint Slice was for the icky feeling in my gut from consuming all that chocolate, and the shame of having to explain where the all but two remaining biscuits have got to. I did not realise that there are ethical issues tied to popular consumer brands, such as Arnott’s, that are much bigger than me.

Oh, Tim Tam’s, why do you tease me so?

The issue that stood out the most for me, however, was the rampant use of unsustainable palm oil in many pre-packaged supermarket products, many of which I had been eating since I could independently shovel food into my mouth. The thought of how many countless animals, including flagship species such as the Orangutan and Sumatran Tiger, die each DAY because of my addiction to chocolate biscuits has added another even more sever regret to my list.

So from the 1st the 31st of June, I’m giving up all products that I either know, or suspect have unsustainably harvested palm oil in them, in protest of the devastating deforestation of South East Asian rainforests and its consequential impacts on biodiversity. I will be writing about my experiences, what I learn and how I cope along the way, to share with you, dear reader, and to prove that you don’t have to stop shaving, showering or convert your wardrobe to solely hemp based garments to join the ranks of the eco warrior (although if you have opted for this kind of approach already, I whole heartedly salute you). As much as I would like to, I cannot physically defend my dear orang-utan friends (an animal that I am often compared to because of the colour of my hair), but like nearly every opinionated twenty something, I have a blog, and the determination to see this through to the end. And hopefully beyond…

Don’t give me that face

Leave a Reply

