RSS Feed

Bake Off: Ginger Nut vs Honey and Ginger Snaps

Hello! You might notice that this post is a little different from the others! That’s because it’s the first in a series of recipes I’m going to try, in order to replace some of my favourite biscuits with more ethical, palm oil free alternatives!

First Up, the humble Ginger Nut.

These were introduced to me by a dear friend all the way back in primary school, and I have been quite partial to them ever since. However, now that I’m no longer partaking in snack foods with unsustainable palm oil, I decided that instead of cutting them out altogether, I’m going to try my hand at make a different, yet equally delicious alternative.

I’ve used this recipe for Honey snaps many times before, which I got from the wonderful Frankie Magazine cookbook Afternoon Tea. It’s my baking bible, yet this time I’ve decided to tweak the recipe a little, and add ginger to make them Honey and Ginger Snaps.

Honey Snaps
From the kitchen of: Natasha Cantwell via Frankie Magazine

Ingredients:

Beechworth Honey, Flour, Coles brand butter, Baking Powder, Masterfoods Ground Ginger, Sugar

3 tablespoons honey

2 tablespoons sugar

50g margarine

½ cup of plain flower

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon ground ginger or cinnamon

Method

Preheat oven to 180C. In a saucepan, heat honey, sugar and margarine until melted.

Remove from heat.
Grease or line a baking paper. Sift all dry ingredients into the saucepan and mix well.

Drop teaspoons of the mixture onto the cold tray.

Bake for 10mins.

Makes 12 to 16 (mine were a bit big, so I only ended up making 9. If you know these wont be enough to soothe the cravings, double the amounts!)

Verdict: These are a lot softer than Ginger Nut, I find, and a lot less spicey, but of course you can always add more ginger if that’s what you’re after. Nothing beats warm cookies straight from the oven AND they only took about twenty minutes to make, including baking time! All in all, a quick, easy and successful, palm oil free replacement!  Hooray!

Leave a Reply

