RSS Feed

Day Thirteen

Hello there friend! I am almost halfway through the month, and so far so good! I’m not saying that it has been easy, but I am certain that giving up unsustainable palm oil has been worth it!
I would like to give a couple of mentions to some lovely people who have liked and or left comments on my post. So thankyou to Virginia Plantations, Lesley Carter at Bucket List Publications, Piracetam and to Denver Leandry for the particularly lovely comment. Thanks so much guys, it really means a lot!

Breakfast: Tea. I have a good excuse this time, I swear! I had to get up extra early, so I could go to Thomas Dux and buy some amazing organic goodies! Look out for an upcomming post on this!

Lunch: An eclectic mix of Emily’s carrot cake and some brazil nuts

Dinner: I’m particularly proud of this one! Last night I cooked an almost vegan pasta dish for my mother and sister, and it turned out pretty delicious! It’s almost vegan because we added cheese on top ( I can’t have pasta without cheese). Here are some photos, and the recipe which I found on the gorgeous cooking blog, A Cosy Kitchen.

Avocado and Pesto Pasta

Pasta of your choice (I used spaghetti)
1 cup fresh basil leaves
2 garlic cloves
1 teaspoon sliced almonds
1 lemon, for zest and juice
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
2 tablespoon olive oil
Fresh Pepper
1 medium avocado
1. Add the pasta to a pot of well-salted boiling water and cook to al dente. As you drain the pasta, reserve 1/4 cup of pasta water for the pesto.
 
2. Meanwhile, in a food processor or blender, add the basil, garlic cloves, almonds, zest from 1/2 of the lemon, juice from the whole lemon, salt and a few cracks of freshly ground pepper. Blend until chopped, scraping down the sides, if need be. With the blender running, slowly add the olive oil and blend until smooth. Add the avocado and blend once more. If the mixture is a bit too thick (mine was), add a few tablespoons of the reserved pasta sauce and blend one last time.
 
3. Add the sauce to the cooked pasta and toss until thoroughly coated.
Yields 2 servings

You should definitely check out her version of this; it’s greener, and more beautifully shot.

I don’t cook meals all that often, but when I do I realize that I actually love it. I find it almost peaceful (when I know what I’m doing) and I’m going to try a lot more recipes, palm oil free of course, over the next couple of weeks.

Leave a Reply

