RSS Feed

Day Fourteen

Hello lovely people! Welcome to day fourteen of my no palm oil challenge. First of all I would like to say a big thankyou to Kellie from Le Zoe Musings for the likes, it means a lot because your blog is so amazing! You have such great taste, and I’m definitely going to try out some of your recipes! If you would like to see it for yourself, click here!

Day Fourteen was uneventful, as I had a terrible migraine. Not only was it extremely painful, being unwell also proved to be quite a test of my resolve, as these are the times when I’m most likely to turn to my comfort foods of donuts and chips and mint slice. As in the Siren tales of old, the call of my sugar filled, palm oil laden treats was so loud and so alluring that I had to get out of the house Thus, I ended up at the Bell Jar, a lovely little cafe just up from Smith St. There are many things I love about this cafe, apart from the blatant reference to one of my favourite books; I love the warm, homely food, the minimal, almost industrial decor (they use upended plastic crates as lamp shades and wooden crates as outdoor tables) and the coffee is always great, too. A perfect place to hide out a winter’s day.

Breakfast:
Green and Black’s Organic Hot Chocolate Mix. This stuff is amazing; I talk about it more in an upcoming post.

Lunch: Pumpkin, Carrot, Coriander, and Chilli soup, with toasted sour dough. I managed to sneak a picture of it before devouring the whole bowl; it was so flavoursome and delicious, exactly what I needed to cure my achy winter blues. Who would have thought vegetables could be the perfect comfort food?

Dinner:
Lamb Mince Lasagna with Feta Cheese.

Dessert: White Hot Chocolate at the Coffee Club with Brogan, to conduct the afore posted interview! What did you guys think?

Leave a Reply

