RSS Feed

A Letter To…Macro Wholefoods Market

Image

As you might have read in my second replacements post, I purchased a packet of Macro brand organic corn chips that turned out to contain an organic form of palm oil in them. This is the letter I am sending to them, in order to determine whether or not this organic palm oil is sourced from a sustainable plantation; I would assume so, but I don’t want to leave any stone unturned.

Macro
Organic Corn Chips

To Whom It May Concern

Hello! My name is Tegan Webb, and I am contacting you, the makers of these Original Organic Corn Chips, to not only commend you on a delicious product, but I was hoping you could answer a couple of my questions regarding this particular product.

I have recently embarked on a personal quest, of sorts, to only buy products that contain sustainably sourced palm oil, for ethical reasons. As I’m sure you would have heard, palm oil plantations are the major course of deforestation in many parts of South East Asia, and as an animal lover this concerns me a lot. I love that these chips contain all organic ingrediants, but I did notice that they contain Vegetable Oil, but as palm oil is not required to be label, I wanted to ask you if this palm oil sustainably sourced in accordance with the Round Table of Sustainable Palm Oil Criteria and 3) If not, would you ever consider switching to the use of sustainable palm oil?

Thankyou again for your fabulous food products, and I really hope the answer to my questions is yes, because I don’t want to have to give them up!

Thankyou for your time, I hope to hear from you soon!  You can contact me at my email tewebb23@gmail.com or at the address provided above.

Yours Sincerely

Tegan Elizabeth Webb

Leave a Reply

