RSS Feed

Leo’s: My New Obsession

So you may have read on Day Twenty One that my dear friend Laura and I met for morning tea before work. What I didn’t tell you was that we also took a sneaky trip to Leo’s in Camberwell.

Well, if you are like I was, and thought Thomas Dux was an alternative foods mecca, then wait until you see this place! Walking in, we were overcome by the sweet smells of fresh citrus fruits. We ventured down each aisle tentatively, and with much excitement, pointing and squealing at all the different products we had never seen before, as if we were fourteen year old girls at a  One Direction Concert (ok, maybe not that bad, although I’m sure the other people shopping there may have found us just as annoying). Shelves of homemade style soups, herbs and spices, cheeses, organic, fair trade and raw chocolate (!!!) in all kinds of flavours; we were completely tantalised! However, the most extraordinary thing that we came across was none of these, but instead a brand of pasta that came complete with rainbow stripes! Angel Hair, Bows, Penne, spaghetti, and even Lasagna pasta sheets; they looked like something out of a Tim Burton Movie! And don’t worry, they’re all naturally coloured, with things like beetroot and saffron! No artificial colours or nasty chemicals here! Amazing!

We were both on such a food high, I could only decide on two things

The Regimental Condiment Company Officers Mess Raspberry and Blackberry Conserve

What a mouthful! I was drawn to this product by a number of things; the fact that it’s made locally, in Daylesford, Victoria no less, the gorgeous illustrations on the labels of all their products (a lot of them have animals on them!) and the fact that I want to get myself excited about eating breakfast, so that I stop skipping it! Breakfast is important, and I know that, but my window of time for breakfast is usually taken over by sleep, especially during winter!

I also love the tongue-in-cheek character of the brand, which comes out in their little spiel on the side of the label:

Traditionally, the subjects of women, politics, religion, and work, are touted to be out-of-bounds in the Officer’s Mess. However complimenting the cook on his magnificent fruit conserve was deemed to be a smart move as it usually ensured a decent serving of the main meal…and as the saying goes “An army marches on its stomach”

And it’s delicious; it has this amazing real fruit tang, so you know it hasn’t been  loaded with artificial sugar! The only complaint I have is that you can’t buy bigger jars!

Clipper Organic White Tea with Vanilla

I’m not going to lie, I’m a sucker for beautiful packaging, which is what drew me first to this box of Clipper’s Organic teabags. This reasonable priced, biodegradable, fully recyclable box contains 26 unbleached tea bags of organic, ethically produced and harvested white tea and natural vanilla flavour.

But what really sold me, was the sentiment of this company.

All our organic products are grown in a way that preserves the natural balance of the environment and will help sustain people, wildlife and the land for the future.

If you’re interested in learning more about these fabulous teas, you can visit their website here!

I’m sorry Coles, but Leo’s can do for me everything that you can, and so much more! I just need some time to think, and re-evaluate our relationship.

2 responses »

  1. Dear TeganElizabeth.
    It’s Peter Tehan here…the Commanding Officer of the Regiment. Thanks for the lovely post on your blog. Just saw it.
    We love Leo’s too. I’ve seen supermarkets and food stores around the world and Leo’s Camberwell is right up there with the best of them. Leo Blake and his son Jason are nice people too. Like you I just love the experience and stimulation you get just walking the aisles.
    We started The Regimental Condiment Company just over 2 years ago and we are having a lot of fun with the brand.
    I’m heading to London at the end of next week as Harvey Nichols have just taken most of the range in their (famous) Fifth Floor Food Hall. I’ve got a good good feeling about the brand over there as it has a bit of a ‘British military’ feel about it.
    Pretty exciting for us and they have invited me to their big Christmas 2012 media launch on July 10.
    Anyway we loved your post and enjoy your style of writing. Good luck with it all. I’ll keep an eye out for your stuff.

    Regards

    Peter

    Reply
    • Hi Peter!
      Thankyou so much for your lovely comment! I’m so glad there’s someone out there who loves Leo’s as much as me!
      That Blackberry and Raspberry Conserve of yours is magic! I’ve had it on my toast every morning for the past week, and I haven’t got sick of it yet! I can’t wait to go back to Leo’s and try some more! It’s so good to see quality, locally made foods doing so well! Good luck with your trip and the media launch, I’m sure the range will blow them away! I’m heading over to London in October, so I’ll definitely keep an eye out for a little piece of home!

      Thankyou again with your lovely feedback, it really means a lot to me that you’ve enjoyed my work.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

