RSS Feed

Bake Off: Caramel Crowns vs Caramel Slice

Welcome to my second bake off! I’m sorry there haven’t been more of these over the month, but I promise that there will be many more to come! This week, I’ve decided to try and find an alternative to another beloved sweet treat, The Caramel Crown. It doesn’t seem that long ago, that I was living out of home, almost flat broke and standing at the register of my local IGA with one serving of mei goreng, a bag of peanuts and a packet of Caramel Crowns that I had chosen for my lunch. And dinner. I know, I know, I’m surprised I’m here at all.

Those days are all but gone, and yet I still can’t help but think, no, long for them if I’m ever in an IGA, or even in the biscuit isle of Coles (which I’m not allowing myself to visit anymore because it just makes me sad). So, in order to curb this craving, I went in search of a suitable replacement. And it didn’t take me long to find something I liked (and could cook!)!

This recipe for Caramel Slice comes from the lovely Humble Habit! Once you’ve finished reading this, and making your own caramel slice, you should go and check it out!

I’ve made Caramel Slice a number of times before, but I’ve always used crushed Marie Biscuits for the base. However, although delicious, they do contain palm oil, so I had to find another, more suitable base recipe! I love that this one uses desicated coconut as the crunchy element.
Also, this recipe is actually for salted caramel slice, but I decided to leave the salt out, so I could make a proper comparrison to the Caramel Crowns. If you would like to make the original with salt, you can check out the original recipe here.

Ingrediants

Base
1 cup plain flour, sifted
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 desiccated coconut
125g butter melted
Filling
400g can sweetened condensed milk
2 tbsp golden syrup (we didn’t have any golden syrup, so I used honey instead, which worked well, but I’d really like to try it again with the syrup)
60g butter melted.
Topping
200g good quality plain chocolate (I used Lindt 70% cocoa Dark Chocolate
To Make The Base
Preheat oven to 180 deg c. Line a 3 cm deep, 28x 18cm (base) lamington pan.
Combine all base ingredients in a bowl.
Mix well.
Press into prepared lamington pan.
Bake for 15 to 20 min, or until lightly golden. Remove from oven and set aside to cool.
To Make the Filling
Melt the butter slightly in a pan over a low heat for 2 minutes.
Add the condensed milk and golden syrup. whisk the mixture well till butter is thoroughly incorporated.
Cook for 8 minutes stirring constantly, until thickened and light golden in colour( never take your eyes off it, it will burn very easily. Mine turned out to be very light, but I think that’s because I used honey.)
Pour over the cooled base.
Topping
Break the chocolate into pieces and place in a microwavable bowl.
Microwave for 1 min 45 sec on high, or until fully melted. Leave to cool slightly, then pour over the caramel.
Refrigerate to set. Cut into squares to serve.
The verdict: They don’t look as pretty as the caramel crowns, but taste wise, this slice is pretty gosh darn good. And the best part is, I can cut as big a piece as I want, and the only thing it’s going harm is my hips and posterior! Winner!
2 responses »

  1. What a yummy looking post! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

